top of page
  • Writer's pictureMax

#BookReview & #Excerpt | Bittersweet by Carmen Jenner & Lauren McKellar


Bittersweet by Carmen Jenner & Lauren McKellar

Contemporary Romance

May 1st

What motivates you to wake up every day? In Romy’s case, that would be a steaming cup of coffee, freshly baked muffins with the hot barista on TOP or on the side or on his back.


Romy wanted the dream wedding that most people dream about. It’s all about the dress, the location, the food, the ambiance and of course the groom. But, after getting her heartbroken by a cheating fiancé, she was scared of dating again, of getting attached and giving her heart to someone. So she just settled on crushing over her favorite barista and wishing that he felt the same. But she didn’t want to make the first move for fear of rejection.


Elio’s life was complicated. The kind of complicated that makes it hard to find someone worthy of dating. And he thinks that he found it in Romy, the sexy as hell, curvalicious writer, who lives above his cafe. He would just need a lot of courage and perseverance to act on it. And to be upfront with Romy that he is a packaged deal.


What? A book about coffee, pastries and mind-blowing S-E-X, sign me up! Oh and yeah, that four letter word ♥️ A book that lets you in on what every average woman with cellulites and love handles go through. I’m so head over heals with this love story. This was one of those books that I didn’t want to end. I wanted it to go on, and on and on --- get the idea? I was actually hesitant on turning that last page because I knew that my imagination would just have to do for now. I hope that there would be a next book about Elio, Romy, Coco and their new furbaby as well as their crazy family. A Bianca and Nico book to tide me over please?✌🏻😊 Thank you for this amazing read, Carmen & Lauren. You really made my day. And I read this book in 4 hours. Yay for the bookee with no sleep 😂 I highly suggest that you go and read this #PAWsse 🐾.

“Of course. That’s what gives them character; it’s what gives them life. Besides, you can’t improve on perfection.”


“Kissing her as if I’m dying and she’s the cure. In a way, that’s true. I didn’t realize how lost I was without her. How alone. How in love I am with this incredible fucking woman. And I do love her. I didn’t know it before, but it’s as clear as day now. I love her, and there’s not a God damn thing I can do about it.”


““I love you. I love you in my life, in our life. And I want you here all the time. You’re part of my family, Romy.”


***ARC graciously given in exchange for an HONEST review.e

Bittersweet, an all-new hilarious romantic standalone from USA Today bestselling authors Carmen Jenner & Lauren McKellar is available NOW!


From two USA Today bestselling authors comes a tale of miscommunication and muffins.

Romy Love knows weddings. As the author of a hugely successful wedding blog, you’d think she’d have love covered. It is her last name, after all.


When it comes to her big day, Romy has the flowers picked out, a dress collecting dust in the back of her closet, and a preacher on standby. There’s just one problem: the groom doesn’t know it yet.


Romy has eyes for the Italian coffee god and single dad who owns the bakery in her building—she also has plans for his delicious buns—but in order to get her happily-ever-after, she has a few things to check off her list first:

Lose twenty pounds

Take over the blogging world one wedding at a time

Make Coffee Hottie fall in love with me

Yeah, this shouldn’t be difficult at all.


Grab your copy today or read FREE In Kindle Unlimited!

Confident I no longer look like a cave troll, I grab my keys and wallet and rush downstairs. Elio is just turning the sign in the window when I virtually slam my body against it because I was running full-tilt down the stairs, and I can’t slow my velocity. He gives a startled laugh, and I flame bright red.


Elio abandons his ‘closed sign and opens the door.“Hey.”


“Hi. Sorry about that.”


“Couldn’t wait to see me, huh?” His eyes burn with mischief. I blush and desire arcs through me, because really, it should be illegal for anyone to look that delicious in jeans and a T-shirt with a dishtowel slung over his shoulder.


“Ha! Yeah.” I shake my head.“I mean no. I mean, Coffee. I’m lagging. Please, I’m really sorry. I know you’re closed and you wanna get home, and why wouldn’t you? It’s not like you want to stay at the shop all day when there’s wine to drink and cheese to nibble and classic books to read.”


He frowns.“That’s your impression of me? That I nibble cheese while reading classic literature.”


“And the wine,” my mouth supplies unhelpfully.


He chuckles.“You may need a crash course in what men do after work. Here’s a hint: it’s not nibbling anything. Unless, of course, it comes to ear lobes.”


Oh, wow. Okay. I would definitely prefer that to an expensive gouda.


He grins.“Come on. I’ll do you better than just a coffee.”


“Excuse me?” I squeak.


Now he laughs outright.“Relax,Romy. My nonna is here, my sister too, and a bossy four-year-old. I promise, I won’t bite.”


Not even if I want you to?

Carmen Jenner and Lauren K. McKellar are USA Today bestselling authors of a combined twenty-seven books.

They share a love of rom-com, hot baristas and muffins.

You can find more of their books on their websites:

www.carmenjenner.com & www.laurenkmckellar.com





4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page